Welcome to the Official Naomh Malachi website

Young Irelands condemn Mals to Junior grade

Young Irelands condemn Mals to Junior grade

Dundalk Young Irelands 1-14 Naomh Malachi 1-12.

A strong opening 15 minute performance from Dundalk Young Irelands which saw them lead by 1-4 to 0-1 set them on their way to preserving their Intermediate championship status and condemn Naomh Malachi to Junior Championship football for 2016. A man who played an integral part of this start was Dean Maguire who scored 0-3 points of this 1-4 and 0-5 points over all from 10 shots at the post. Maguire would go on to have 22 touches of the ball in this match more than any of his team mates.

Shortly after Maguire got the opening two scores of the game, Andrew Nixon coolly finished to the net  after to make it 1-2 to no score after 4 minutes. Colin Rooney got the Malachis opening score but further points from the hardworking Jordan O’Donoghue and Maguire again, gave the Irelands that lead after 15 minutes. Then out of nowhere a defensive mix up by the Young Irelands allowed Donal Begley (who scored a goal against the Joes in the last match) gave Tom Gribben’s side hope. Peter Flynn stretched out the Young Irelands lead again. Michael Murtagh kept the Mals in touch at 1-5 to 1-2 after 20 minutes. Dean Maguire and Colin Rooney traded scores before a hat trick of unanswered points from Dean Maguire, Dermot Mone and Jordan O’Donoghue expanded the Dundalk side’s lead to six points. Colin Rooney got the final score of the half to leave it at 1-9 to 1-5 in the Dundalk side’s favour at half time.

A hat trick of Malachis points without reply at the restart cut the deficit to just two points thanks to Colin Rooney. Derek Maguire kept them at arms length however with another point. But the Irelands could never fully put the Malachis to bed and had Peter McCourt sent off. But credit to Tom Gribben’s side they never gave in. Michael Murtagh and Rooney cut the gap to just a solitary point with 15 minutes left. Another Derek Maguire point made it a two point game which was followed by another Peter Flynn point to keep the Malachis at arms length at 1-12 to 1-9. Edward Laverty kept the Malachis in the game. Dereck Maguire made it 1-13 to 1-11 before Dermot Mone made it a three point game. Colin Rooney made it a two point game to give him a personal tally of 0-9 points. But the Young Irelands were happiest at the end as they preserve their championship status for 2016.

Dundalk Young Irelands: Fergal Sheeky; Ryan Malon, Simon Flynn, Robbie Farrell; Sean Laverty, Cian O’Naraigh, Peter Flynn(0-2); Kevin Keelan, Peter McCourt; Dermot Mone(0-2), Derek Maguire (0-2 1f), Dean Maguire (0-5 1f); Jordan O’Donoghue (0-2), Andrew Nixon (1-0), Mark Savage. Subs: David Lally for Jordan O’Donoghue, Conor Nixon for Andrew Nixon

Naomh Malachi: Liam McCann; David Begley, Tiernan Gonnelly, Conor Gonnelly; David Rogers, Ronan Greene, Jamie Kelly; Padraig Moley, Michael Murtagh (0-2); Shane Roddy, Ronan McElroy, Donal Begley; Feidhlim Daly, Eamon Agnew, Colin Rooney(0-9 2f).

Referee: Stephen Johnson.

C Rooney 6x4

Leave a Reply