Welcome to the Official Naomh Malachi website

Woods’ goal in the nick of time

Woods’ goal in the nick of time

A last-minute goal from substitute Barry Woods gave St Nicholas their first win of this year’s Kevin Mullen Shield, and with that, the first defeat for the Malachis men. Played in tough conditions in Rathmullen, scores were at a premium throughout with both sets of defences on top.

It was the home side who opened the scoring through full forward Paddy Murtagh who finished high to the roof of Liam McCann’s net in the eleventh minute. The Courtbane men replied in similar fashion when following good interplay with Mark Meegan, wing forward slotted past net minder Alex Reilly to level matters. Back came the Nicks though, and scores from Jason Boyle and Murtagh put them two ahead approaching half-time. However, the border outfit finished the half stronger and points from Colin Hoey and Niall Dowdall drew the sides level. Soon after, Ronan Greene stroked home a penalty after Jamie Kelly was dragged down, and when Meegan slotted over a point on the half-time whistle, the Malachis held a four-point lead at the interval.

Half-Time: St Nicholas 1-2 Naomh Malachi 2-3

The second half, like the first, took some time to settle, before Barry Byrne and Dowdall exchanged scores. However, with ten minutes left to play, Murtagh rose highest to fist a long ball into the back of the net to leave a point between the sides. In the latter stages the game ebbed and flowed as both sides struggled in the conditions, but with the game entering time-added-on, Woods’ attempt at a point dropped short and into the back of the net to give his side a two-point win.

Full-Time: St Nicholas 3-3 Naomh Malachi 2-4

St Nicholas: Alex Reilly; Jason Boyle (0-1), Darren Thornton, Andrew Story; Kieran O’Brien, Dylan Kirwan, John Maguire; Declan Heeney, Craig Donnelly; Richard O’Brien, Barry Byrne (0-1), Keith Closkey; Sean Donnelly, Paddy Murtagh (2-1), Keith Brennan. Sub: Barry Woods (1-0) for Donnelly.

Naomh Malachi: Liam McCann; Stephen Burns, Ronan McElroy, David Begley; Eamonn Murphy, Ronan Greene (1-0), Conor Gonnelly; Padraig Moley, David Rogers; Colin Hoey (0-1), Mark Meegan (0-1 1f), Donal Begley (1-0); Jamie Kelly, Niall Dowdall (0-2), Darren Rowland. Subs: Anthony Martin for McElroy (inj), Niall Bird for Meegan.


Leave a Reply