Seans advance to Kevin Mullen Shield semi-final

A fine second half performance from the Sean McDermotts put paid to the challenge of Naomh Malachi in their rearranged quarter-final encounter in the Kevin Mullen Shield. Despite being behind at the interval, the mid Louth outfit advance, thanks in the main to the exploits of corner forward Kevin McMahon.

Indeed, it was McMahon who opened the scoring in the 2nd minute but the visitors soon found their form to lead by four points after the opening quarter thanks to points from Padraig Moley (2), Collie Rooney (2), and a fine team effort that was finished off by Jamie Kelly. A brace of scores from McMahon kept this side in touch, albeit for Shane Rogers to produce a fine score for the border outfit. A David O’Neill free kick reduced the gap once again but the Mals’ dominance in the opening thirty minutes saw Moley claim his third point of the half before Ronan Greene struck over a placed ball.
Half-Time: Sean McDermotts 0-4 Naomh Malachi 0-8

In a similar vein to the opening half, the Sean got the first score after the interval but this time McMahon found the back of the net capitalising on a loose ball in the Mals defence to blast past the hapless Mark Meegan. McMahon followed up with a point in the 39th minute to level matters before Donal Begley edged the Mals in front once again moments later. A quick-fire brace from McMahon put the Seans in front for the first time before Ian Corbally and Rogers traded scores. A well-struck 45’ from Greene got the Mals back on even terms but they were left to rue a host of missed chances to regain the lead with the game entering the closing stages. However, the home side did not pass up their opportunities and they deservedly advance to the semi-finals thanks to late scores from midfielder Mark McEneaney, O’Neill, and the highly influential McMahon.
Full-Time: Sean McDermotts 1-11 Naomh Malachi 0-11.

Sean McDermotts: Alan O’Neill; David Bailfe, Ciaran McMahon, Kevin McGahon; Lorcan Ludden, Sean McGahon, Daniel Reilly; Patrick Osbourne, Mark McEneaney (0-1); Ian Corbally (0-1), Kevin Carroll, BJ Matthews; David O’Neill (0-2 2f), Peter Osbourne, Kevin McMahon (1-7 1f).
Subs: Niall McEneaney, Shane Kelly, Aaron Myles, Daniel Commins, Leigh Ross.

Naomh Malachi: Mark Meegan; David Begley, David Rogers, Daniel Lundy; Peter McShane, Ronan Greene (0-2 1f 1 45’), Donal Begley (0-1); Ronan McElroy, Padraig Moley (0-3); Ciaran Hughes, Jack Kirwan, Emmet Mullen; Collie Rooney (0-2 1f), Shane Rogers (0-2), Jamie Kelly (0-1).
Subs: Noel Donaldson, Tiernan Gonnelly.

Referee: John Crawley.