A blistering start from the Sean McDermotts set them on their way to a comfortable opening day victory over the hosts in Courtbane. For the visitors, Kevin McMahon was on fine form finishing the day with 1-5 as his side coped with the difficult conditions best.

The men from Mountrush raced into an early lead, punishing some unforced errors in the Malachis defence. Tony Kelly opened the scoring from a placed ball in the opening minute, before David O’Neill extended their lead soon after. Lorcan Ludden got in on the act knocking over two fine individual points, and further extended his sides lead rifling past Liam McCann who had pushed an earlier effort onto the crossbar. McMahon followed Ludden’s efforts by claiming a trio of points as the home side kicked a number of wides. With half time approaching Ronan Greene did eventually open the Malachis account albeit they entered the break nine points in the arrears.
Half-Time: Naomh Malachi 0-1 Sean McDermotts 1-7

Any hope of a comeback all but evaporated in the opening stages of the second half when McMahon once again was a thorn in the Malachi’s side. After claiming a brace of points, he finished expertly past the hapless McCann for his sides second goal before Collie Rooney kicked two fine scores to salvage some pride in the red jersey. Lorcan Myles and Rooney exchanged points towards the end as the visitors ran out comfortable winners at the final whistle.
Full-Time: Naomh Malachi 0-4 Sean McDermotts 2-11

Naomh Malachi: Liam McCann; David Begley, Stephen Burns, Conor Gonnelly; Peter McShane, David Rogers, Shane Roddy; Sean Gogarty, Padraig Moley; Donal Begley, Ciaran Hughes, Ronan Greene (0-1); Jamie Kelly, Ronan McElroy, Mark Meegan.
Subs: Collie Rooney (0-3) for Hughes, Niall Dowdall for McShane, Emmet Mullen for Kelly

Sean McDermotts: David Brennan; Daniel Commins, Ciaran McMahon, Daniel Reilly; Kevin McGahon, Peter Osbourne, Ian Corbally; Tony Kelly (0-2), Emmet Duffy; Lorcan Myles (0-1), Kevin Carroll, Lorcan Ludden (1-2); David O’Neill (0-1), Kevin McMahon (1-5), Patrick Osbourne.
Subs: TJ Duffy, Brendan McGahon, Declan Carroll, Eoin Lynch, Conor Lynch, Cormac Walsh

Referee: Patsy Connolly

C Rooney 6x4

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *