Collie Rooney was the hero for Nh Malachi as he landed a last minute point to hand his side a victory over Sean McDermotts by the narrowest of margins.

The teams looked set to settle for a share of the spoils when the Seans battled back from three down in the closing ten minutes, but all their good was in vain as the visitors snatched victory in a dramatic finale.

It was a difficult week for all concerned with the Seans but they began with their focus very much on the game as David O’Neill got them off the mark in the first minute. Tony Kelly then added two inside seven minutes to extend the lead.

Jamie Kelly finally got the Mals off the mark on eight minutes but it was to prove only brief respite as the O’Neill and Kelly hit the target at the other end to lead by 0-5 to 0-1.

The Courtbane men then got through for the only goal of the game from Kieran Hughes to get right back into the match and a point from Ronan McElroy had the sides level on 15 minutes.

Ronan Greene and Collie Rooney pointed to put the visitors ahead and although Ronan Curran replied for the Seans, Kieran Hughes had the final say of the half to send the Mals in leading by 1-5 to 0-6.

The visitors looked to be heading towards victory when two points from Shane Rogers saw them take a 1-8 to 0-8 lead entering the final quarter. At that stage the McDermotts upped their game and points from Tony Kelly (2) and Kevin McMahon had the game all square on 54 minutes.

Both teams created chances to win the game but it was the Mals who snatched victory when Rooney fired over in the final minute.

SEAN MCDERMOTTS: Alan O’Neill; David Balfe, Sean McMahon, Kevin McGahon; Lorcan Ludden, Kevin Carroll, Danny Reilly; Patrick Osborne, Kevin McMahon 0-2; Ian Corbally, Ronan Curran, 0-1, Lee Ross 0-1; David O’Neill 0-2 , Tony Kelly 0-5, B J Matthews. Subs: Shane Kelly, Mark McEneaney, Danny McEneaney, Peter Osborne, Eoin Lynch, Phelim Myles, Aaron Myles.

NH MALACHI: Mark Meegan; David Begley, David Rogers, Stephen Burns; Peter McShane, Ronan Greene 0-1, Daniel Lundy; Padraig Moley, Ronan McElroy 0-1; Donal Begley, Kieran Hughes 1-1, Paul Gogarty; Collie Rooney 0-3, Shane Rogers 0-2, Jamie Kelly 0-1.

C Rooney 6x4