A dominant second half display from Lann Leire secured the points on offer in Courtbane on Sunday afternoon as they picked up their second win of the league campaign. The mid Louth outfit turned around a half-time deficit with an assured attacking display after the interval with wing forward Colin Murphy finishing with a hat trick.

Both sides got into their stride quickly with three goals inside the opening ten minutes. Collie Rooney found the back of the net for the hosts in the fifth minute before Colin Murphy responded with his own major 60 seconds later. However, an individual effort from Jamie Kelly, who rifled past John King, edged the Mals into the lead. Liam Callan and Murphy added points for the visitors but Rooney and veteran Ronan McElroy kept the Mals in front by the opening quarter. Alan Murphy and Padraig Moley traded long-range scores, as did Niall Lennon and Rooney, before a composed finish from Gary Monaghan left his side two points in arrears at the break.
Half-Time: Naomh Malachi 2-4 Lann Leire 1-5

Upon the restart, Breen McGuinness capitalised on a mistake in the Mals defence to claim his sides second goal of the contest. Although Lennon edged Lann Leire further ahead, a brace of fine points from Rooney drew parity by the 37th minute. Lennon restored his sides lead before Colin Murphy pulled on a loose ball that cannoned in off the underside of the crossbar to extend the visitors lead. The impressive McGuinness added a fine point as did Liam Callan as their side grew in confidence. Moley and Colin Murphy traded points before the latter finished with aplomb past net minder Mark Meegan for his second goal of the contest. Lennon and McGuinness added to their tallies, and although Moley claimed his third point of the affair, it was the visitors who left with the two points on offer.
Full-Time: Naomh Malachi 2-8 Lann Leire 4-12

Referee: Paul Finnegan (Snr)

Naomh Malachi: Mark Meegan; David Begley, David Rogers, Stephen Burns; Daniel Lundy, Peter McShane, Donal Begley; Padraig Moley (0-3), Pierce Caherty; Emmet Mullen, Noel Donaldson, Ciaran Hughes; Collie Rooney (1-4 1f), Ronan McElroy (0-1), Jamie Kelly (1-0).

Lann Leire: John King; Thomas Doyle, Bob Murphy, Jason Torris; Breen McGuinness (1-2), Brendan McEvoy, Michael O’Hare; Ian Mulroy, Alan Murphy (0-1 1f); Colin Murphy (3-2 1f), Liam Callan (0-2), Laurence McEntee; Conal Maher, Gary Monaghan (0-1), Niall Lennon (0-4 1f).

Colm Murphy