Welcome to the Official Naomh Malachi website

McMahon’s accuracy the difference

McMahon’s accuracy the difference

Naomh Malachi produced their best display of the season when they faced off against the Sean McDermotts on Sunday morning in Mountrush. However, the border men fell short primarily due to the accuracy from the home side’s Kevin McMahon from placed balls.

The Seans were the first to settle when Peter Osbourne knocked over a free kick in the second minute, while corner forward David O’Neill stretched their lead to two soon after. Mark Meegan got the Mals first score of the day from a placed ball in the tenth minute. The away side grabbed the lead a minute later, when an attempt for a point from Colin Rooney came off the post and fortuitously found its way to the back of the net off Padraig Moley. This spurred the home side into action and five unanswered points through Kevin Carroll (2), Aaron Myles and Kevin McMahon (2) gave them the upper hand. A fantastic point from Jamie Kelly stemmed the tide, but the home side finished the half the better with McMahon adding four more points, all from placed balls. Meegan had the Mals’ solitary reply to leave his side five points in arrears at the half.

Half-Time: Sean McDermotts 0-11 Naomh Malachi 1-3

Playing with a strong breeze at their backs on the turnaround, the Courtbane men cut into the lead thanks to points from Moley and Ronan Greene (free). With a quarter of the game left, midfielder David McArdle settled his sides nerves with a well taken point. Back came the Mals men, and good play from Rooney created the opportunity for Meegan to grab his first score from play and leave three points between the sides entering the last ten minutes of play. Goal chances came and went, but it was Myles who had the last say, once again pointing from a placed ball for the victors, the Sean McDermotts who move into the knock-out stages of the Shield competition.

Full-Time: Sean McDermotts 0-13 Naomh Malachi 1-6

Sean McDermotts: David Brennan; Darcy Reilly, Kieran McMahon, Danny McEneaney; Ian Corbally, Emmett Duffy, Kevin McGahon; Sean McMahon, David McArdle (0-1); Aaron Myles (0-2 1f); Pete Osbourne (0-1 1f), Lorcan Ludden; David O’Neill (0-1), Kevin Carroll (0-2), Kevin McMahon (0-6 5f).

Naomh Malachi: Liam McCann; Conor Gonnelly, Stephen Burns, David Begley; Eamonn Murphy, Ronan Greene (0-1 1f), Colin Hoey; Pierce Caherty, Jamie Kelly (0-1); Donal Begley, Colin Rooney, David Rogers; Darren Rowland, Padraig Moley (1-1), Mark Meegan (0-3 2f). Subs: Niall Dowdall for Rowland, Eamonn Agnew for Murphy.


Leave a Reply