Naomh Malachi 1-12 Glyde Rangers 1-14

Naomh Malachi and Glyde Rangers played out an entertaining contest on Saturday evening in Courtbane before the visitors claimed the two-points on offer to secure top spot in Group A of the Kevin Mullen Shield.

Played in ideal weather conditions, it was the home side who got off to the best start helped in the main by points from Ronan Greene (2) and Pierce Caherty and a third minute goal from the in-form Collie Rooney. The visitors though reduced the arrears by the quarter hour mark with well-taken points from David Brennan, Brian Duffy, Trevor O’Brien and Niall Sharkey. Noel Donaldson and Rooney re-established a lead for the home side by the 20th minute before O’Brien responded on the stroke of half-time to leave his side two points in arrears at the interval.
Half-Time: Naomh Malachi 1-5 Glyde Rangers 0-6

The early stages of the second half replicated that of the first with Greene and Rooney stretching the Mals’ lead. However, the Tallanstown outfit enjoyed a purple patch with Philip McGahon, Barry Sharkey, David Devenney and Aaron Devlin getting on the scoresheet. A pointed free from Rooney stemmed the tide, albeit for Devlin and Brennan to claim further points before Duffy struck with a major in the 48th minute. To their credit, the home side responded well with Rooney, Ronan McElroy and Jamie Kelly claiming points to leave just the minimum between the sides in the closing stages. Alas, late points from O’Brien and Sharkey sandwiched a Rooney effort to ensure that the visitors left the victors.
Full-Time: Naomh Malachi 1-12 Glyde Rangers 1-14

Referee: Colin McKenna

Naomh Malachi: Mark Meegan, David Begley, David Rogers, Conor Gonnelly; Daniel Lundy, Ronan Greene (0-3 1f), Stephen Burns; Pierce Caherty (0-1), Padraig Moley; Donal Begley, Noel Donaldson (0-1), Emmet Mullen; Collie Rooney (1-5 1f), Ronan McElroy (0-1), Jamie Kelly (0-1).
Subs: Jack Kirwan and Tiernan Gonnelly.

Glyde Rangers: Gerard Carroll; Conor McCullagh, Cian Sheridan, Peter Duffy; Fiachra Sheridan, Philip McGahon (0-1), JP Boyle; Barry Sharkey (0-1), David Devenney (0-1); Aaron Devlin (0-2), Conor Sheridan, David Brennan (0-2); Trevor O’Brien (0-3), Brian Duffy (1-02), Niall Sharkey (0-2).
Subs: Gerard Farrell, Niall Bird and Gavin Duffy.